注册时事通讯rightsfornature.orgrightsfornature.org

自然权利或地球权利是一项全球运动,旨在赋予动物和生态系统以法人资格,目的是在法律上承认自然权利。

(2022) 将自然视为人的全球法律运动 自然正在成为一个人。如何理解赋予动物、植物和河流合法权利的全球新趋势。 来源: 对外政策

转基因可被视为“对自然的强奸”或“对自然的腐败”。

自然权利 - 将自然和动物视为可以受到法律保护的人 - 为保护免受转基因生物提供了法律基础。

说明转基因产业如何试图反对源于道德问题的批评,例如动物有尊严的想法。他们打算“打击”诸如自然权利之类的运动,就好像它涉及对科学的战争一样。

一本主要科学杂志的标题提供了一个例子:

(2021) 反科学运动正在升级,走向全球并杀死数千人 反科学已经成为一种占主导地位和高度致命的力量,它威胁着全球安全,就像恐怖主义和核扩散一样。我们必须发起反攻并建立新的基础设施来打击反科学,就像我们应对其他更广泛认可和确立的威胁一样。

反科学现在是一个巨大而可怕的安全威胁。
来源: Scientific American

破坏转基因作物的人被指责为“杀死成千上万的儿童”,因为这些作物将为这些儿童提供实用价值。

GM: science out of control 110在一群菲律宾农民摧毁了试验性的黄金大米后,全球愤怒接踵而至。在菲律宾、孟加拉国和印度等国家,农民的西西弗斯式斗争鲜有人知,但这些农民被描述为导致数千名儿童死亡的反科学路德分子

一位学术哲学家对“科学战争”宣传的看法:

(2018) “反科学狂热”?价值观、认知风险和转基因争论 “反科学”或“对科学开战”的说法在科学记者中很流行。虽然毫无疑问,一些转基因生物的反对者有偏见或对相关事实一无所知,但将批评者定性为反科学或参与科学战争的笼统倾向既是错误的,也是危险的。 来源: PhilPapers (PDF) | 哲学家 Justin B. Biddle (Georgia Institute of Technology)

“科学战争”宣传的一个例子:

(2018) 反转基因行动引发了对科学的怀疑 俄罗斯巨魔在食品安全中心和有机消费者协会等反转基因组织的帮助下,在公众对科学的怀疑方面取得了惊人的成功。 来源: 科学联盟

宣传涉及基于一种意识形态——一种对科学的某种信念——即“播下对科学的怀疑”是错误的信念,应将其视为重大安全威胁,以数百万美元的全球营销预算进行打击和个人攻击。它涉及起诉科学异端的人。

健全的哲学理论和推理可以防止自然破坏者或“转基因产业”推动的战争。

转基因产业起源于具有严重腐败历史的制药业。 GMO 是一种无指导(愚蠢)的做法,主要由公司的短期财务利益驱动。

重编程性质(合成生物学)极其复杂,在没有意图或指导的情况下进化

The Economist (Redesigning Life, April 6th, 2019)

为了赢得转基因辩论,它将涉及对自然的道德和2022年的学术哲学的解决,甚至没有开始讨论这个话题。

(2022) 自然与道德:几个世纪哲学探索以来的78篇论文 来源: academia.edu

实践中缺乏道德推理能力的证据:

(2022) “自然权利”是一场与人类中心主义纠缠的虚假权利革命 即使赋予自然法律人格,也无法超越人类中心主义,本质上是因为权利概念是以人为中心的。从根本上发展权利是为了保护个人的尊严。将此框架扩展到非人类实体存在固有的局限性。

这就是赋予自然权利给我们带来一系列新问题的原因。平衡自然权利与相互竞争的人权可能会使自然利益退居二线。因此,重点应该放在灌输对生态的尊重上,而不是把传统意义上的权利分给自然世界。
来源: science.thewire.in

自然权利运动是一个很好的概念,但它需要紧急增强人类代表自然进行道德推理的能力。

科学是对自然的功利。道德是自然永恒的,涉及不同的利益——可能跨越数千年的利益,可能完全超出人类的直接利益范围。

为什么要进行哲学探索以防止转基因生物?

研究这个问题时应该牢记,这个问题需要一个超出功利论范围的答案(即人类的角度来看的有用性)。人们需要强大的动力来推动哲学探索超出“有用”的范围(例如赚钱),这可能比预期的要困难。


自然组织的权利

考虑订阅时事通讯、捐款或以志愿者身份加入。


GARN rights for nature rightsfornature.org Women’s Earth and Climate Action Network UN Harmony with Nature Center for Environmental Rights Pachamama Alliance Earth Law Center Austrlian Earth Laws Alliance Rights of Rivers

视频纪录片

道德,就像💗爱一样,不能“写下来”,🐿️动物需要
© Philosophical.Ventures Inc.oceandump.orgnature-protection.org

Sign-up for the newsletterrightsfornature.orgrightsfornature.org

Rights of nature or earth rights is a global movement that seeks to grant legal personhood to animals and eco-systems for the purpose of recognizing the rights of nature in law.

(2022) The Global Legal Movement to Treat Nature as a Person Nature Is Becoming a Person. How to make sense of the new global trend that grants legal rights to animals, plants, and rivers. Source: Foreign Policy

GMO can be seen as 'rape of nature' or 'corruption of nature'.

Rights of nature - the treating of nature and animals as a person that can be legally defended - provides a legal basis to achieve results when it comes down to protection against GMO.

Telling is how the GMO industry attempts to oppose criticism originating from moral concerns such as the idea that animals have a dignity. They intend to 'combat' movements such as rights of nature as if it concerns a war on science.

A headline in a major science magazine provides an example:

(2021) The Antiscience Movement Is Escalating, Going Global and Killing Thousands Antiscience has emerged as a dominant and highly lethal force, and one that threatens global security, as much as do terrorism and nuclear proliferation. We must mount a counteroffensive and build new infrastructure to combat antiscience, just as we have for these other more widely recognized and established threats.

Antiscience is now a large and formidable security threat.
Source: Scientific American

The people that destroy GMO crops are blamed for 'killing thousands of children' due to the utilitarian value that those crops would provide to those children.

GM: science out of control 110Global outrage ensued after group of Filipino farmers destroyed a test crop of golden rice. There has been little recognition of the Sisyphean struggle of farmers in countries such as the Philippines, Bangladesh and India, yet these farmers have been described as anti-science Luddites that cause the deaths of thousands of children.

A perspective on the 'war on science' propaganda by an academic philosopher:

(2018) “Anti-science zealotry”? Values, Epistemic Risk, and the GMO Debate The “anti-science” or “war on science” narrative has become popular among science journalists. While there is no question that some opponents of GMOs are biased or ignorant of the relevant facts, the blanket tendency to characterize critics as anti-science or engaged in a war on science is both misguided and dangerous. Source: PhilPapers (PDF) | Philosopher Justin B. Biddle (Georgia Institute of Technology)

An example of the 'war on science' propaganda:

(2018) Anti-GMO activism sows doubt about science Russian trolls, aided by anti-GMO groups such as the Center for Food Safety and Organic Consumers Association, have been strikingly successful in sowing doubt about science in the general population. Source: Alliance for Science

The propaganda concerns combatting and personally attacking with multi-million USD global marketing budgets based on an ideology - a certain belief about science - the belief that 'sowing doubt about science' is a wrong that should be combatted as a major security threat. It concerns prosecuting people for heresy of science.

Sound philosophical theory and reasoning can prevent the war that is pushed by the destroyers of nature or 'the GMO industry'.

The GMO industry originates from the pharmaceutical industry with a history of profound corruption. GMO is an unguided (dumb) practice primarily driven by the short term financial interest of companies.

Reprogramming nature (synthetic biology) is extremely convoluted, having evolved with no intention or guidance.

The Economist (Redesigning Life, April 6th, 2019)

To win the GMO debate, it will concern the addressing of morality for nature and academic philosophy of 2022 didn't even get started on that topic.

(2022) nature and morality: 78 papers since centuries of philosophical exploration Source: academia.edu

Evidence of lacking moral reasoning capacity in practice:

(2022) ‘Rights of nature’ Is a Faux Rights Revolution Entangled in Anthropocentrism The inability to move beyond anthropocentrism, even while granting legal personality to nature, is essentially because the concept of rights is people-centric. Rights were fundamentally developed to protect the dignity of individual human beings. There are inherent limitations to extending this framework to non-human entities.

This is why granting rights to nature presents us with a new set of problems. Balancing the rights of nature with competing human rights may see nature’s interests take the back seat. So the focus should instead be on inculcating a respect for ecology instead of farming out rights in the traditional sense to the natural world.
Source: science.thewire.in

The rights of nature movement is a very good concept but it would require urgent enhancement of humanity's capacity to morally reason on behalf of nature.

Science is utilitarian of nature. Morality is eternal of nature and involves different interests - interests that may span thousands of years time and that may be completely outside of the direct interests scope of a human.

Why philosophical exploration to protect against GMO?

This question should be examined with in mind the understanding that the question demands an answer outside the scope of utilitarian arguments (i.e. usefulness from a human perspective). One will need a strong motivation to push philosophical exploration beyond the scope of 'usefulness' (e.g. making money) and that may be more difficult than expected.


Rights of nature organizations

Consider subscribing to the newsletter, making a donation or join as volunteer.


GARN rights for nature rightsfornature.org Women’s Earth and Climate Action Network UN Harmony with Nature Center for Environmental Rights Pachamama Alliance Earth Law Center Austrlian Earth Laws Alliance Rights of Rivers

Video documentary

Morality, like 💗 love, cannot be “Written Down”, 🐿️ animals need you!
© Philosophical.Ventures Inc.oceandump.orgnature-protection.org